Hello! (Told you I’d have it up by 5:00. I think)

Here we are yet another week with yet another Wheel of Time Casting Call, with yet another batch of unfortunate characters being forced into the bodies of actors that I think they are most reminiscent of. It’s like a wacky science experiment gone all horribly wrong. It’s like I’m taking itty bitty mice, who all have certain ways they like to be thought of, and forcing their minds into the bodies of other mice, who may or may not look quite like what the original mice always thought they looked like, and also don’t necessarily look quite like what everyone else thinks the mice should look like. And it depresses the mice. And depressed mice are sad. They just sit around all day eating cheese. 😦 I digress (<—- Understatement).

A note on the art: For most of the art I use for characters, I am getting it from the amazing Seamas Gallagher gallery, who does some of the best WoT art out there. Some of the other I’ve used is from the equally amazing Jeremy Saliba. A lot of the art I use is cropped, so that I can fit the most character on the screen without having to deal with fancy borders and such, so you guys should definitely check these guys’ sites out (where you will find the full, beautiful pictures) and support them if at all possible. Some characters, no matter how important(ish) they are, do not have art though. In which case, I will insert a picture of a friendly squid.

Oh, and apparently my blog has gotten popular enough that another WoT Casting blog has mostly copied it, including the format of the posts, the actors I use, and even some of the little quips and humor I put in it. Sincerest form of flattery, right? Right!

Spoilers may exist, read at your own risk.

Tier 2 Casting

Modhedien, by Seamas Gallagher
Let’s talk about Moghedien. Moggy has essentially become Nynaeve’s nemesis over the course of the series, and has done some pretty terrible things. In fact, she has possibly done some of the worse things in the series, including the Dream Ripping (TM) of Birgitte and the balefire of all the boat crew just to get at Nynaeve. Seriously, think about what some of the other Forsaken have done, and she’s up there in the top tier of “Most EVAHL!” whether or not she gets any awards for Most Competent. Then again, she’s done some pretty cool things too, such as tying Liandrin’s shield in infinite little knots so that our resident Ms. Petulant can’t really cause anyone any harm. The enemy of my enemy . . . well, she’s not my friend, but it does grant her a couple cool points.

Moghedien has taken on a couple different personas in the series, such as Gyldin and Marigan, but when she is forced by the a’dam to reveal her true appearance to Egwene, she appears sturdily handsome with shoulder-length hair worn loose. She has large, dark eyes and smooth cheeks. I’m pretty sure she has dark hair, but I can’t find much about that. I know Gyldin and Marigan both had dark hair, so I’ll assume Moghedien does too.

For some reason, I kept wanting to put Elisabeth Shue in this role, but I think it was I couldn’t come up with anyone better. But then I remembered Jeanne Tripplehorn, who kind of rocks. I don’t watch Big Love, but my wife does, and everytime I see her on screen, I have to stop what I’m doing and enjoy her splendidness. She has all the criteria we need, and she can look mad and mean like the bestworst of them.

Jeanne Tripplehorn as Moghedien

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Basic Instinct
Big Love
Very Bad Things


Morgase, by Seamas Gallagher
From there, we move on to Morgase Trakand. Morgase, Blessed of the Light, Rose of Andor, yadda yadda yadda, gave us a good first impression with her very reasonable and moral decision of how to handle Rand’s whole “falling into a castle courtyard” debacle. She used good logic and strong ethics to make a very good judgment of Rand, and thus, she was a very likable monarch right from the get-go. Then she got all Rahvin’ed, which was extremely unfortunate (those words, lightly they are used), and all that goodness got all turned around and upside down. Then, perhaps even more unfortunately, she became a huge bore, and I now find myself often skipping over her chapters in the series. Let’s talk about her appearance.

First of all, I’m only using the above picture because there isn’t much art to choose from of Queen Morgase, but this is probably some of my least favorite art depicting WoT characters. I don’t know why, but I find her to be ugly (instead of the beautiful she should be), and the dress just doesn’t fit my mind of what she should look like. Anyway, we know she has red-gold hair, and has “Elayne’s looks, ripened to maturity.” We also know she still appears relatively young, and that comes from her Slowing.

Many people probably don’t even know who Amy Yasbeck is. She played Maid Marian in Robin Hood: Men in Tights, and she absolutely looks the part I’ve always pictured for Morgase. She is beautiful, she is mature, but she has a young-ish appearance. Plus, she looks very much like the person I have chosen for Elayne, so the whole mother-daughter thing works out. See, I plan this shit out!

Amy Yasbeck as Morgase

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Robin Hood: Men in Tights
Various TV Shows and
TV Movies


Khalamari Kid as Osan'Gar
Osan’Gar comes next, who was masquerading as an Asha’Man for awhile. He begins his existence in Lord of Chaos as the reincarnated Aginor, but doesn’t show up as a character until introduced to us as Dashiva in A Crown of Swords. As far as I’m concerned, he’s gone down in the history of the series as possibly the most useless Forsaken we’ve met (though I’m willing to let him eek that out with Demandred depending on how awesome (or not) Demmy’s appearance is in AMoL).

He has an “ordinary face,” and is in his middle years. He acts like he’s already insane, he is a daydreamer, and he walks hesitantly, and tilts his head in a curious way when he speaks to people. He has untrimmed hair.

Well, he’d have to grow his hair out a bit, but I love Michael Keaton for this role. Keaton plays funny and crazy with the best of them, and he could basically play Beetlejuice and he’d be in character. There was one other person I considered having Keaton play, after it was brought to my attention by Terez that he’d make a good Fain. But I needed a bit more crazy in my Fain. And ugly. And Michael Keaton is not ugly (by most standards).

Michael Keaton as Osan'Gar

Places you’ve possibly seen him (Keaton):
Batman
Beetlejuice
White Noise


Padan Fain, by Seamas Gallagher
Padan effing Fain. Possibly the most horribly evil and insane character we’ve met in the series, one who has done nothing but harass, pursue, and attack Our Heroes from the very first time we see him. Seriously, the first time we see him, he’s planning a Trolloc attack. And apparently he’s got some major parts to play coming up – there’s otherwise no reason for him to have been around as long as he has. I have a pet theory – one that involves Fain being locked in an eternal battle with the Dark One (since he hates the Dark One as much as he hates the good guys) as Mashadar – but I have no evidence, or even any real logic, to support it. Just something I think would be “cool.” Anyway, he is utterly filled with Wrath towards both the Dark One, and Rand, and his story ain’t quite done yet.

So, he’s a pale, gangly, skinny dude, with a “massive beak” of a nose. Most of the recent art, including that above, shows him looking pretty disheveled, unkempt, and missing teeth, soaking himself in blood, whathaveyou. Oh, big ears too. I always liked the art for him in the Big White Book (though that book nowadays gets a lot of flack for its depictions of the characters). Oh, and he’s bat-shit insane. Like, Über-Insane, even.

So, not a real shocker here, Steve Buscemi wins this round. He can play “bat-shit insane” very well (watch him on The Sopranos), and has most of the not-quite-very-handsome facial features that would be needed for Fain. Big ears? Check. Big nose? Check. Presumably missing teeth (from chewing on his Shadar Logath dagger)? Check. I don’t think he even cleans up well (not that I’ve ever seen him in a business suit that I can recall, unless you count Reservoir Dogs, and he was pretty bedraggled-looking through most of that as well).

(As a side note, I strongly considered Gary Busey for this role as well. And it would have been AWESOME)

Steve Buscemi as Padan Fain

Places you’ve possibly seen him:
The Sopranos
Reservoir Dogs
The Big Lebowski


Rahvin, by Seamas Gallagher
Our resident rapist, Rahvin is up next. Maybe that’s not fair to introduce him as such. I mean, he’s not known for only raping (mentally and physically) Morgase, right? I mean, he did other things. Like put Trolloc guards in Caemlyn. And killing entire cities during the War of Power. And forcing Morgase to send away all her friends, family, loved ones, and anyone she trusts, and then making a public fool of her. So he’s got other things goes for him, I guess.

He’s a stud though. Tall, dark, and handsome, making women who aren’t even Compulsed swoon over him. He has black hair, which is white at the temples, and is dark and slender with nearly black eyes. He supposedly has an “insatiable” appetite for women – one may even say he Lusts after them. Sometimes, in other Castings, he is cast as a black man, because of that “dark” part up above. I don’t get the feeling that’s the case, so I haven’t done that. However, if anyone has anything to prove me wrong on that, I do know a good black actor I would put here for the role.

So, I’m going with Benjamin Bratt for this. I don’t remember when I first saw him – I do remember I didn’t like him the first time, wherever that was (maybe Demolition Man? Which, i guess I can’t really blame him for that movie, right?). Anyway, he’s made a very favorable impression on me in recent years, and I actually really like him nowadays. And when he cleans up, he looks exactly like I picture Rahvin to look. So there. And he was HIGH-larious in the episode of Modern Family he showed up in.

Benjamin Bratt as Rahvin

Places you’ve possibly seen him:
Miss Congeniality
Law & Order
The Cleaner (TV series)


Sammael, by Seamas Gallagher
The Forsaken most represented by Pride (maybe I should do a series on the Forsaken and the Seven Deadly Sins?), Sammael is next. Sammy (I like mocking the Chosen by shortening their name into a little pet name – it makes me feel powerful over them, almost like proclaiming “Ba’alzamon is a Fool!”) was known as a great general. Once out of the prison, he set up shop in Illian, consolidating power for quite some time, and even tried to set up a truce (though I seem to remember that was a trick?) with Rand to not attack each other until the Last Battle.

He is taller than average (slightly), with golden, closely-cropped hair, blue eyes, and a square trimmed beard. He is described as “solid and compact,” so I picture he works out (or at least looks like he does), and also picture him always standing straight-backed with his hands clasped behind his back, like a good soldier. Oh, and he has a nasty scar across most of his face, something that could have been Healed, but he left it as a constant reminder of why he hates Lews Therin so very, very much.

Viggo Mortensen was in plenty of films before The Lord of the Rings, but that’s what made him famous (and brought him to my attention, which may be more important for this particular blog series). He gets to be Sammael, though he’ll need a bit of dye (I didn’t know he was starting to gray so much). Otherwise, he’s exactly as I picture that Forsaken – solid, compact, stern-no-nonsense-looking, well-disciplined. I guess someone will have to cut up on his pretty face a bit to get that scar, which is a bit unfortunate, but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do to get in the Big Flicks, right?

Viggo Mortensen as Sammael

Places you’ve possibly seen him:
The Lord of the Rings (duh)
The Road
Hidalgo


Semirhage, by Seamas Gallagher
And we go from Good Little Soldier Boy to Creepy as All Effing Get-Out-Of-My-Fantasy-Series Semirhage (I’m told that was her official name before RJ got tired of typing it). Semirhage was built up quite a bit before we really got to see much of her – but man, she made an impression on us. Apparently, even the Forsaken were wary of her (which should really tell you something right there), and no other villains in the series have come anywhere close to the purely sadistically evil things Semmy has done in the name of the Dark. And she blew off Rand’s hand. 😦

She is slender and taller then most men. She has a dark face with large dark eyes and full lips. She has short wavy hair. She is said to always dress in black because Lanfear dresses in white, though not even the other Forsaken dare to call her on it. And she’s creepy. That’s pretty important, I’d say.

Well, without the proper make-up, I wouldn’t call her creepy, but otherwise, Gina Torres is absolutely perfect for this role. She is an awesome actress, and she can play a real bad-ass when needed. She’s also tall – look up pictures of her standing next to her husband, Larry Fishburne. She’s supposedly one of the friendliest, most down-to-earth actresses around, so I hate to put her through the necessary torture to get her to play the role properly, but once again, gotta do whatcha gotta do for the serious roles.

Gina Torres as Semirhage

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Firefly/Serenity
The Matrix Reloaded and Revolutions
Various TV Shows


And that ends this week. Come back next week for the final six of Tier 2. I guess that means Tier 1 is coming up soon, eh?

Cheers!
-Brandon Daggerhart

