Once again, the characters of The Wheel of Time must submit themselves to be casted by yours truly. The characters have no say in the matter, but sometimes commentators do. I have thought about Berelain, and find myself agreeing that Anne Hathaway may not be the best choice for her. The problem is that she just isn’t . . . sultry . . . enough. So, I have started with a replacement for Berelain. I have no problems, whatsoever with my newly casted First of Mayene.

As before, if you need any info as to what exactly I am doing here, look no further than the previous link. Also, the beginning of Part One has a lot of useful info as well.

Here we go.

Berelain
I went with sultry first, then dark hair. The pale skin had to be sacrificed a little here, but I think this is as good a choice as they come. I will tell you, this lady was also one of my runner-up choices for Lanfear as well.

Juliet Landau as Berelain

Juliet Landau is gorgeous, ‘sultry,’ and has a great presence. I think she not only covers the needed criteria for Berelain, but beats those criteria into submission.

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel
Ed Wood
Guest appearing on various TV shows


Caroline Damodred

Moraine’s cousin is described as “short and slender with a pale beauty. She has large dark eyes. She wears a kesiera. She strongly resembles Moiraine, but has a throaty, sultry voice.” She is one of the rebels hanging out with Darlin for awhile, and even in her first appearance (meeting with Rand), shows that she has good common sense and strong character.

Dark hair, pretty, sultry, and short. Well, my choice isn’t necessarily short, but then again, she’s not too tall either. It will also be the case with the character I choose for Moraine herself, but I think height will be something the filmmakers and director can hide on screen.

Lauren Graham as Caroline Damodred

Lauren Graham is a pretty and dark-haired actress, and does a good job of playing woman in control. I can’t say that I ever really watched the Gilmore Girls, but was pretty awesome in Flash of Genius, and I like her in the new Parenthood TV show as well.

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Gilmore Girls
Parenthood
Flash of Genius


Carlinya Sedai

Everyone’s favorite “cold” Aes Sedai – in fact, I am relatively sure that every time Carlinya is described, she is described as “cold.” But not be much of a peoples-person. She is also pale, with dark hair and eyes.

Rachel Griffiths as Carlinya Sedai

It would be hard to not see Rachel Griffiths as “cold.” Even when she’s smiling at the camera, she has the look of, “I have much more important things to do than to be smiling at you.” She also has naturally dark hair (though not in this picture), and is a fan-frakkin-tastic actress.

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Six Feet Under
Brothers and Sisters
My Best Friend’s Wedding


Chel Vanin

Mat’s number one horse thief, spy, and information gatherer. Chel was introduced in Lord of Chaos, and has been around quite a bit since then. He is described as fat and gap-toothed, but able to steal a horse out from under its rider.

Timothy Spall as Chel Vanin

Peter Pettigrew, aka Timothy Spall, is all of those things. He is also an awesome actor, and one of the only redeeming factors in Rockstar. He even looks a bit gap-toothed in this photo.

Places you’ve possibly seen him:
The Harry Potter Series
Rockstar
Enchanted


Chiad

Strong, pretty, and a bit shorter than Bain, Chiad makes up the second of my favorite little love-circle-trio in the series. Another Aiel Maiden, and these aren’t the easiest to cast, but we’ll see what we can do.

Alicia Witt as Chiad

I like the idea of Alicia Witt as Chiad for two reasons. First, Alicia Witt seriously needs to be in more movies. She’s beautiful, she’s a great actress, and she shines when she’s on screen. Second, she looks a little like Laura Prepon, who I casted as Bain. I know Chiad and Bain are not blood-related, but I really like the idea of them looking similar, as it gives even more humor to the whole Bain-Chiad-Gaul thing.

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
The Sopranos
Vanilla Sky
Friday Night Lights


Colavaere Saighan

One of the shortest-termed queens in Cairhien history, I’m pretty sure, went to Colavaere. She spent the first few books we knew of her in attempting to manipulate Rand, and basically just being a dirty fighter. Then she tried a major move while Rand was out of commission, and paid the ultimate price for it. She is cold, pretty (but short of beautiful), and in her middle years.

Michelle Forbes as Colavaere
I first saw Michelle Forbes (that I remember, anyway), in Star Trek episodes, and then later in a great little Kevin Spacey flick called Swimming with Sharks. She is one of those actresses that has always stuck with me for some reason – I loved her in the few movies I’ve seen her in, as well as the multiple TV shows she’s done over the years. She will pull off our short-lived queen very well.

Places you’ve possibly seen her:
Battlestar Galactica
Star Trek: The Next Generation
True Blood


Dain Bornhald

The apple in Geoffram Bornhald’s eye, his son Dain, who takes a turn for the worse once his good father passes on. Dain is first introduced in the Eye of the World, and since he’s a Whitecloak, he’s a bit of a jerk (hint: they all are). He is narrow-faced, and takes on quite the brooding personality by The Shadow Rising.

Davis Bloome as Dain Bornhald
Sam Witwer had a lot of success playing the tragic character of Doomsday in Smallville, and I think will fit this role perfectly. He has a dark demeanor, is what I would consider “narrow-faced,” and seems to be mad all the time. He has mostly done TV roles, so this could be a good break for him.

Places you’ve possibly seen him:
Smallville
Dexter
Battlestar Galactica


Damer Flinn

Ol’ Granpa Asha’man as the kids call him (or would, if they knew better), Flinn has been one of the loyal Asha’Man at Rand’s side for several books now. He is old and leathery, and a great healer, and the descriptions we get of him make me think he would be charming to be around. He also discovered a new way of Healing, which is pretty awesomesauce.

Christopher Lloyd as Damer Flinn
As far as I’m concerned, Christopher Lloyd can play any role he damn well chooses. Hell, I’d let him play Rand if they could CGI sixty years off his face. The guy is one of the finest and funniest actors of the last century, able to play any character given him. He nailed Damer Flinn’s role before he even read the script.

Places you’ve for sure seen him:
Back to the Future
The Addams Family
Who Framed Roger Rabbit?


Well, that’s it for this week. Next week, we’ll go through the rest of the D’s and onward.

Cheers!
E.S.

